David Hiett from Hiut Denim.

“Interesting things happen when you do interesting things”

hiutt denim website.png   http://hiutdenim.co.uk/

To end our amazing couple of days filled with various conferences, we had a very special guest speaker come to one of the main lecture theatres. David Hiett from Hiut Denim came up from a small town in Wales called Cardigan. As I am from not too far from Cardigan, I was already aware of the huge history in denim the place held, but it was interested to learn a lot more about it, and Hiett’s thoughts and feelings towards the denim trade in Wales.

I found Hiett’s passion about his company extremely inspiring as well as his thoughts about creating a relationship with his product. Hiut Denim will be the first jean company in the world to have a History Tag. This means each pair of jeans is personal to the owner and they can upload memories and pictures online to this specific history tag. As an extremely big lover of denim myself, I have so much love for this idea. As throw away fashion is such a massive and still growing problem in our society, I think this a great idea and opportunity to influence people to create relationships and memories with their clothing items, not just throw them away when they’re bored of them.

Doing one thing well.png

       http://hiutdenim.co.uk/blogs/story

After researching into the Huit Denim website, I came across a quote that really made me think about my own branding and direction I want to take in the textile world – “The things that define you are not just the things that you do, but the things you say no to. Saying no is focus. We only make jeans. We say no to anything else. Be narrow. Be good.” I love how Hiett pushes all of his passion and thoughts into jeans. This is what he loves and inspires me to concentrate on the things I love doing in textiles rather than the things I don’t like.

Published by

emsophiadavies

First every blog!! I want to explore and share my experience of my BA in textiles.

Leave a Reply

