Denim Deconstruction.

IMG_2807

We have been briefed this week with a short two week project, this means it will be very fast paced and experimental. Instructed to bring in one pair of denim jeans, we were then let lose to deconstruct the jeans anyway we wanted to get to know the material and really understand how it works. I was super excited about ripping, cutting and unpicking my jeans apart as denim is my absolute favorite fabrics and I had never even considered taking denim pieces apart to get to know this material.

IMG_2804

I had no clue what to make with my denim jeans to begin with, I wanted the jean to inspire me and lend themselves to a particular object I could work with.

As I am very passionate about up-cycling, I wanted use this as starting point for this project and preoduce a fashion garment. Another aspect I want to follow is having my final piece to resemble this pair of jeans in some way. This has me leaning towards making some sort of top that still has the main areas of my jeans to resemble them. I will keep you updated with my ideas and what I finally decide to do.

Published by

emsophiadavies

First every blog!! I want to explore and share my experience of my BA in textiles.

Leave a Reply

