Summary from the Digital Module.

 Overall, I have thoroughly enjoyed this module. Coming from a background of little to none digital design experience, I was very surprised by how fast I actually picked the variety of skills up.

Starting with Adobe Photoshop, I struggled at the start with this and couldn’t get my head around the different uses of all the layers on one page, and how I re-sized or edited these layers to create my design. Once I had grasped this technique and began labeling and naming my various layers, I soon progressed within Photoshop and was less afraid of experimenting with different tools and techniques.

Moving on the Adobe Illustrator, this was my favourite one of the two as I didn’t have to worry about pixel size and got to work with vectors, meaning images could be resized to any size with no pixalation. My favourite part of illustrator was using the ‘image trace’ tool, where my simplistic and detailed sketches could be transformed into these, cartoon like images which I could then fill with colour, resize and edit to my preferred look.

My choses design brief was ‘Urban Beat’, I was very excited to dive into this brief and began researching the various words related to my chosen theme, e.g. graffiti, youth, grunge, urban. This inspired me greatly, and led to a mood board and colour board that I am very proud of. From researching and producing these boards, I decided that I wanted to focus my concepts on Urban Fashion.

I am very pleased with the colour palette I had chosen as it is very bright and colourful. I feel like I have the best of both words where some colours really complement each other, e.g. orange and yellow, on the other hand some of my colours contrast with each other to help make my designs stand out more, e.g. red and blue. On reflection, to improve on the use of my colour palette, I would experiment more with adding texture into these colours with more techniques that include layering and gradient techniques, I think this would add another dynamic to my designs and creating more texture would add more individuality to my pieces.

Over all, I am happy with my collection of designs, I think they all complement each other well as well as standing on their own as individual designs alone. To progress further with these designs, I would start to research and experiment with placing my designs onto actually objects. I would also like these objects to relate to my theme of ‘Urban Beat’ and look into electronics and social media. This means I could place my designs onto laptop/phones cases, profile background/skins as well moving into the urban fashion element and placing my designs onto clothing items.

I would like to carry on developing my digital skills throughout the rest of my time through university and summer and improve upon my knowledge of Photoshop and Illustrator so that I can contribute these into my next body of work and add a new dynamic to my work.

Published by

emsophiadavies

First every blog!! I want to explore and share my experience of my BA in textiles.

Leave a Reply

