Mood Boards.

 

Another deliverable for our brief was to create four various mood boards that inspired and explained each part of my brief. I had to create; a theme board, a colour board, a client profile board as well as a company profile board. These are all based around the hypothetical commission brief that I previously wrote around the skate wear brand Element.

A theme board portrays the general feel of the project and which direction the project is heading. I have title ‘d my them board ‘Sea Creatures’ as this is my main inspiration behind the designs I eventually want to make. By adding my own sketches onto the board, I can give off a better indication of which route I will be taking with my illustrations.theme-board(Theme board)

 A colour board is quite self-explanatory; it shows what colours I plan on using throughout this project. I concluded using these colours by first researching through WGSN (a colour prediction database) into what colours will be popular in S/S 2018 for men. Following on from researching these, I chose which selection of colours suited my theme and theme board the most. I do love how these blues complement each other while this bright orange colour I have chosen completely contrasts them all, I think I can have great fun combining them all together when designing.
colour-board-png-pic
(Colour board)

client profile board explains who my target market is. This board helps to build up a profile of who will want to buy these designs. My target audience is a young, trendy and active male between the ages of 18-23. These is why I have included images such as skateboards, camping and BMX’s.
cilent-profile-board
(Client board)

company profile board explains where else would my target audience shop and who my competitors are.
company-profile-board
(Company profile board)

Overall, I think all my mood boards complement each other and are obviously within the same theme/target audience. I used a white background to keep my mood boards looking fresh and clean, also as my pictures don’t hold too much bright colours, I think a white background helps them to stand out a lot more. I do like the fact that I chose to hand make these board over digitally making them as I could play around with my positioning before sticking theme down, and I could add my own sketches on some of the boards. If I were to improve my mood boards further, I would consider digitally editing some of the photos enhancing them before printing them out and sticking them down.

Published by

emsophiadavies

First every blog!! I want to explore and share my experience of my BA in textiles.

Leave a Reply

