Illustrative Drawing.

Illustrative drawing is a big influence and aspect of my designs. Here I created several illustrative drawings using pencil and a black fine liner. These are all influence from my visit to Bristol aquarium.  I am pleased with the outcome of these, as it was a great practise experimenting with my line work. I have created illustrative patterns throughout the bodies of these creature. These are not realistic patterns. I feel this made-up line work suites the areas well and adds an interesting aspect to the design. Instead of the expected patterns you might find amongst these fish, I have created a contemporary alternative. I think this would help capture attention for longer as they line work is first what you expect to see.

I am very pleased with these drawing, although they do look a bit flat. I think they have been a great building block towards my designs but to move forward I want to add aspect of colour and shading to define the creatures further.  I also want to experiment with different medias in creating these illustrative pieces to add new elements and depths/widths to the line work.

Published by

emsophiadavies

First every blog!! I want to explore and share my experience of my BA in textiles.

Leave a Reply

