Object Sites by Jonathan Clarkson.

The second lecture we received yesterday, was based on the sites of an objects. The settings in which they lay. This can mean several things:

  • Where it touches the world
  • Is a paragon
  • Determines objects relation to the world

Paragon
An example of a paragon is a frame; we are there to look at the picture within the frame yet when we stand back and look at the picture from afar the frame becomes a part of the picture. Plinths serve a similar function for a sculpture. A plinth is crucial to the affect a sculpture has on the world.

My favourite example that was shown was Ron Mueck’s Dead Dad (1997).This big plinth forces the viewer to stand back and brackets off this pieces connection with the world.

work-5751405-2-flat550x550075f-dead-dad-by-ron-mueck/
http://nostalgicskin.blogspot.co.uk/2011/09/representations-ron-mueck-and-frozen.html

Lighting
Lighting is a part of an objects setting to consider and affects how it touches the world. The best lighting is not always the brightest.

Location
Location is also a big aspect and how the object determines a relationship with the world. Paragons can also change in regards to the location.

Overall, I found this lecture the more useful of the two as it taught me a variety of different aspect to consider which I first didn’t think about. The lecture also should us several very different examples in each aspect. I now want to experiment with my object by places it in different locations; some where my tin and jewellery belong, some places where they do not belong.  I want to experiment with different lighting and how they affect my objects and the affect different paragons will have on my object e.g. displaying they in a frame. This day has given me so much to think about and so many questions to consider, I am now going to think about what questions mean the most to me and narrow them down to what’s most important to consider in regards to my objects.

Published by

emsophiadavies

First every blog!! I want to explore and share my experience of my BA in textiles.

Leave a Reply

