Thoughts, new ideas and aims.

Tomorrow is the beginning of part two of the subject brief. After venturing off to field the past five weeks, I am excited to get back in the mind set of thorough textile work and menswear design.

After re-reading the set subject brief and my own hypothetical design commission brief, it’s been a great way to get my mind and creative senses in gear. On reflection to my own brief I’ve decided I need to re-write some areas as my ideas and outcomes aren’t as clearly described and set out as they could be. I am happy on reflection that I stuck to the schedule I set, so I will re-make another one for this term also.

I am happy with the amount of drawing and mark-making experiments I produced last term, although I will keep adding to these as new ideas arise and to keep my mind in the “surfy”, illustrative mind set it needs to be in. To develop my drawing aspect further, I want to research closer into fish with giant teeth, I think this fish and image suits my HDCB well and the style of drawing I have previously used.

Print will be my home for the next couple of weeks as screen printing will be a main focus in regards to my designs progressing, I want to transfer some drawing I have previously created from paper to fabric through screen-printing. I also want to experiment with lino-printing and mono-printing.

To add to these drawing and designs I will create, I want to experiment with CAD as it will be interesting to discover new colour-ways in regards to my colour palette.

I want to develop and broaden my research file, to do so, I will continue to research into a variety or artists and designers that inspire my work. I want to re-visit shop areas I have previously research online into to gain a knowledge of the atmosphere in the shop and around the brands too.

As well as focussing on print-making, I want to dedicate some of my time to designing and creating forms of embroidery patches in reply to my HDCB and explore a further range of colours in regards to colour palette.

Throughout all of this, I really want my blog to flourish, by creating daily blogs posts in regards to my progress, development and inspiration.

Published by

emsophiadavies

First every blog!! I want to explore and share my experience of my BA in textiles.

Leave a Reply

