Journal Research- Conscious Living.

Viewpoint magazine delivers visual, editorial and statistical information to brands, designers, and agencies determined to create lifestyle products, campaigns and environments that anticipate consumer demand.

I have chosen to look at an article called Finding our better selves found in issue 36 of viewpoints collection titled Conscious Living. The article is very long and consists of many subheadings. Due to the nature of this set task, I’ve chosen to concentrate on one subheading called The Evidence.

17012759_833220956819392_533533444_n.jpg

This article generally outlines the movement of consumers and businesses choosing purpose over profit. As we face an environmental crisis of global proportions, sustainability is no longer a simple buzzword. This article suggests the future belongs to activist brands who deliver accountability and transparency to conscious living choices.  As sustainable fashion is true passion of my own, this has taught me a great deal and help me to develop thoughts and opinions in regards to conscious living that I can take into my practise.

Making a sea change

One significant issue activist brands and consumers are consciously acting together on is the world’s ocean.  This is a great collective theme as the ocean is crucial part of the world and it belongs to everyone so everyone is responsible- the oceans health is the worst it has ever been due to over-fishing and pollution. Examples giving throughout this article of activist brands are:

Parley for the oceans

Parley for oceans are activist who organise group rallies and events over the world in regards to the oceans health. Collaborating with Adidas and designed by Alexander Taylor have created a sportswear line made from plastic salvaged from the ocean. This has given me a lot to consider in regards to progression with my designs. This progression in sustainable fashion in relation to the ocean is a great reflection of my brief and is a new research point for my project.

http://www.adidas.co.uk/parley

No fish, No nothing

Kenzo developed a clothing line in conjunction with the Blue Marine Foundation, the collection named “No Fish, No Nothing” emphasises a strong message through bold colours and prints. This relates and inspires my project as this brand produced illustrative images throughout their designs, at a much larger scale than I had ever considered. This inspires me to experiment with scale in my designs.

http://okfoc.us/kenzo/

Pantone colours

At the end of this article was a page of pantone colours, similar to mine. This gives me confidence in my own colour palette now as similar colours have been used in very successful collections with other activist brands.

16997192_833220940152727_111177077_n

Published by

emsophiadavies

First every blog!! I want to explore and share my experience of my BA in textiles.

Leave a Reply

